Welcome to the Desert!

Hello Everyone!

I’m excited to see though I was on a short hiatus, people out there still seemed to read my blog!  That encourages me to get back on track, so thank you!

The reason Mo hasn’t posted lately anything “On the Go” is because she has literally been going going going.  I’ve traveled 2,500 miles and passed through 6 states to get to my new home in Scottsdale, AZ.  It is quite a change, but it has been my goal to get out here for almost a year, and I’m proud to say that I actually did it!  Big thanks to my friends and family who have helped and supported me along the way ❤

Okay, now that we’ve made it through the thank yous, I can give you a heads up about what is in store in the near future.  I will share a little of my cross country journey.  Unfortunately, I didn’t have time to experience much of the great food along the way, but my sister and I experienced some Southern cookin’ in Arkansas.  Oh yea, and the best fajitas ever in New Mexico!

 

In case you didn’t know one of the many reasons that Scottsdale is my dream destination…just look up restaurants.  There is literally something for everyone…every culture, ever palette, every occasion.  It is a foodie’s paradise!  Powerhouses such as Jose Garces and Sam Fox bring multiple notable restaurants to the Valley.

The best way to get an insight of what is around is to go on a food tour.  Not only will you be able to sample dishes from 4 or 5 restaurants and specialty stores in the area, you will also get a tour of the town as well as some fun facts.

Check out the Old Town Food Tours.  I think everyone should go on a food tour in any city atleast once, whether you are vacationing or are a local.  You never know what you will discover.  Personally, I love being able to get a peek at various restaurants that I may not have thought to go to myself.  http://www.arizonafoodtours.com/  Now that I think of it, I may go on one this weekend for fun.  It is kind of pricey at around $45, but totally worth it.  It is also a great way to meet people.

Some places in which I have tried that I will also blog about in the near future include Culinary Dropout and Nourish. Both of which were fabulous 🙂 My sister’s personal favorite is Wildflower Bread Co.

Also, I got to experience the Old Town Scottsdale Farmers Market and am looking forward to the BBQ Festival next weekend.

Oh yeah, and the Herb Box (both DC Ranch and Southbridge locations) have some pretty amazing food and chefs 🙂  The concept reminds me of that which we had at the Restaurant School at Walnut Hill College in Philadelphia where we had a pastry shop, marketplace and various restaurants.   The Herb Box is actually the first place I remember stumbling upon during my first journey to Scottsdale last summer.  I was drawn in when I saw the dessert case in the Market.  Little did I know, months later, I would be the one filling that pastry case at their other location.

We use fresh, seasonal ingredients and put out quality products.  More on the Herb Box to come.  I’m excited to hopefully eat there as the menu looks AMAZING and there is a really talented team.  The one thing I know, other than the pastries being amazing, is that the grilled chicken and sage pesto sandwich served with homemade sweet potato chips is probably the best thing I had ever eaten for lunch.  The chicken is ridiculously tender and full of flavor.  The thinly sliced gala apples not only add a nice crunch, but a slight sweetness as well which pairs beautifully with the goat cheese, pesto, and smoked bacon.  How could that be any better?  It’s served on ciabatta bread.  Enough said.

I can’t wait to further explore all of the culinary treasures the desert has to offer.

There’s always something going on, so don’t forget your appetite 🙂

Leave a Reply

