Dogfish Head…not just beer

You may be familiar with Dogfish Head fresh brewed ales.  Well, you can get them freshly brewed when you stop by their locations in Delaware.  In Milton, DE you can take the brewery tour and in their home base brewpub location in Rehoboth Beach; they brew some right upstairs.  There are Alehouse Restaurant locations in Gaithersburg, MD, Falls Church, VA and Fairfax, VA in addition to the Rehoboth Beach, DE location.   Every Tuesday, Wednesday and Thursday in Rehoboth at 4:30pm you can take a free tour of the experimental brewery and upstairs distillery, where they make vodka, gin and rum too!

I’ve never been until this past week, but I’ve always heard good things about Dogfish Head.  I recall trying to go once during the summer season but it was over an hour wait so we ended up going somewhere else.  So on a cold weeknight in February when most places are closed in OC, MD, I decided to head up to Rehoboth, DE where there is always something going on.

Dogfish is open everyday for lunch and dinner.  Currently the popular food specials are $5 burger night on Tuesdays and $6 pizza night on Thursdays.  For the drinkers, you can get a sampling of 5 different beers for only $5.

I was expecting classic bar food, but boy was I wrong.  It’s more like a gastropub.  Examples of appetizers include fried pickles, antelope sliders, hummus, and spiced fried buttermilk calamari. I went for the rosemary parmesan fries.

They were fabulous, even when I reheated them in the oven the next day!  The fresh cut fries are tossed with rosemary and freshly grated parmesan cheese.  Accompaniments include a 60 minute IPA truffle mustard and bacon mayo, with real pieces of bacon in it. It’s a flavor party.

The menu also boasts fun names for menu items such as “the Dog Pile” (spinach and artichoke dip) and “The Happy Nonconformist” (a pizza with mozzerella and your choice of sauce and toppings.) Entrees known as  “Main Events” include of course crab cakes, fish tacos, fish and chips, steak and fries, and something I would really like to try…mushroom macaroni and cheese.

I think the big draws at Dogfish are the beers (many on tap everyday), the burgers and the pizzas.  My friend started off with the Red Velvet, which is a combination of Champagne and raspberry beer.

Since it was burger night where you can get any beef or turkey burger, or chicken sandwich for $6, I decided to head in that direction.  Each additional topping is $1.00, but it is a little more than just lettuce and tomato.  You can choose from goat cheese, caramelized onions, mushrooms, bacon, bleu cheese, cheddar cheese or avocado.  I chose the goart cheese spread with caramelized onions and mushrooms.

Now, the Dogfish Burger isn’t just any burger.

“Our tasty burgers come from cattle fed the world’s finest brewing barley (from our brewery just up the road in Milton, DE)! All of our burgers are served with a pickle, red onion, lettuce, tomato and fresh cut fries on a kaiser roll.”  I thought maybe my mushrooms were cooked in beer as I got that kind of flavor from my burger, but it was actually from the beef.  The burger was also perfectly cooked to medium, making it nice and juicy. Since I had ordered fries as an appetizer, the server let me choose another side to replace the fries that were supposed to come with my burger, free of charge.  I just got a Caesar salad, but it was the best Caesar salad that I ever had.  It came with an anchovy on top, which is not for me, but my mom would’ve loved that. The croutons were homemade, of grilled seasoned baguette.

I plan to return in the near future with my sister and mother to try their gourmet wood grilled  pizzas.  My friend appropriately got the “Happy Nonconformist” and topped with crab meat and Old Bay.  😉 It’s her usual favorite, which is a great deal for only $10.  The pizzas range in price from $8 to $13 and for an additional $1-$2 you can add toppings such as summer sausage, house made bacon, poached tomato, green apple, asparagus, various cheeses, etc.  The pizza crust is made with “bits of wheat, barley and un-fermented ale to impart a rich, earthy taste.” It is perfectly crisp on the bottom and chewy on the inside.

Additionally, there is always something going on. It’s a great place to go with friends, have some good food and a drink in a casual environment.  Now I know it is entirely worth the wait!

Check it out…

http://www.dogfish.com/restaurant/index.htm

302-226-BREW

320 Rehoboth Ave

Rehoboth, DE

3 thoughts on “Dogfish Head…not just beer

  1. The “dog pile” is an amazing appetizer too!

    It’s got artichokes and spinach and a mountain of cheeses and I don’t even know what else, but it’s pretty magical!

    Again, good review! Keep ’em coming!

    • That is on my list to try next time as I am a huge fan of spinach and artichoke dip. If I try it, do you mind if I tell the world it is “magical”. That sounds great and I will give you credit Chuck! Thanks again for reading!! 🙂 Is there anywhere you are curious about. I’m trying to check out as many places as I can and suggestions are always welcome.

  2. If I minded that you tell the world it’s “magical” I would not have broadcast it as such on your blog! You can feel free to steal that adjective.

    Thanks for posting.

    We hardly ever eat in OC because we don’t know what’s good and what’s terrible, so we’re eager to hear more about the good places out there.

    Regardless, keep it up. We’ll keep reading.

Leave a Reply

