Back Street’s Back! Day off at the Backstreet Grill

I’ve always seen or heard about the Back Street Grill in Salisbury, MD, but had never been until recently.  Thank you dear blog for giving me an excuse to try all of these fantastic places 🙂

I remember always passing the Back Street Grill in the late 90’s and early 2000’s when I was in the height of my Backstreet Boy fandom.  Every time we would pass Back Street, I would always think of my Backstreet Boys 🙂  Anywho, when I attempted to go to Back Street, I forgot that they relocated and I ended up at Sobo’s Beersto (a stop in the future, no worries!) then turned around and found my way back to Snow Hill Rd. To me, that is a little off the beaten path, but it is a hot spot so most of the locals know just wear it is.  I couldn’t find a website for them so it was hard for me to do any sort of research beforehand, so I had no choice but to check it out.  🙂

Parking was rather difficult when we got there because it was busy for lunch, but we made it work.  It is a cute little building and the inside was nice and comfortable.  I assume it must be a fairly new building.

We were greeted as soon as we came in and the hostess took us right to our table.  It was an L-shaped booth so we had plenty of room and were comfortable.  We had a great view of the huge 20 seat wrap around bar, all sides of the restaurant, and even view out the back area which is like a built indoor patio.

We also had a great view of the Specials board and the multiple TVs broadcasting sports games.  This is a nice casual place for lunch, but I’m sure for dinner it can get kind of rowdy.  I wasn’t surprised that Back Street was the place to be when I ran into both my paper products rep for my job as well as my business owner.  Go figure I would see both of them on my day off, ha!

Being the week before Valentine’s Day, I knew it would be a busy one.  This week was brutal, even worse than Christmas, so I needed something on my mid-week day off…

I got Sailor’s Sunset Crush and though I am not a big drinker, I have tried several different cocktails before and this is by far my favorite and the best deal for only $6.  Sailor Jerry’s spiced rum is mixed with freshly squeezed orange juice, Sprite and grenadine.  Sooo good this one could be dangerous.  I tasted more the blend of juices than the alcohol, but there was enough in there to make me feel rather warm and fuzzy after only one. woo

My friend got a strawberry dacquiry.

Now the concept at Back Street is rather simple, but unique.  I don’t know if this is only for lunch, or for dinner too, but they are home of the build your own sandwich.  On the table is a pad of menu cards and a cup of pencils.  Each person simply tears off a menu paper and checks of their sandwich or salad choices.  You can choose type of bread, hot or cold, meats, cheeses, toppings, spreads, etc.  On the back of the menu, you can also choose for an already built options like a French dip or a Reuben. Additionally, on a menu rack on the table, Back Street offers traditional appetizers like Fried Zucchini, Chicken Wings and Mozzerella Sticks.  Surprisingly, they also offer healthier appetizer options such as veggies and dip and seared ahi tuna.

I’ve been craving a Reuben sandwich for a while now. Remember the yummy looking one my dad got from Market Street Inn, if not, check out that post!  The traditional is made with corned beef, but turkey was also an option.  It was served with potato chips and an pickle.  My sandwich was just as a Reuben should be…seeded rye bread sandwiching thinly sliced corned beef, Swiss cheese, saurkraut and Thousand Island dressing and grilled. It cost around $6/7.  Though the sandwich was served with chips, I had to try the Beach Fries.  As we walked in to Back Street, the first thing we smelled was “boardwalk fries”  Fresh cut fries with salt and malt vinegar, yum!  We were served a huge basket for only $3.50.  Boardwalk flavor without the boardwalk price or hassle.

My friend built her own side salad with Iceberg lettuce, hard boiled eggs(slightly overcooked), croutons and Caesar dressing.  She also built her own burger…beef, provolone, mayo, mustard, lettuce, bleu cheese dressing on a Kaiser roll. It was a huge 8oz burger that was cooked perfectly and juicy.  The bleu cheese dressing was homemade and full of large chunks of cheese. The burger was also served with potato chips and a pickle.

Our server was friendly and attentive.  She asked if we were interested in dessert, but I had to pass.  They had Smith Island Cake on the menu which I was pretty sure was from Classic Cake.  (a local bakery down the street)  I suppose I am biased as I prefer my own company’s Smith Island Cake.  Actually, after 2.5 years of making it everyday, I try not to eat it anywhere out.

I would definitely go back to Back Street.  It is a great place to go for a casual lunch with friends.  Plus, I love the fact that I can make my own menu by creating my own sandwiches or salads.  It’s often overwhelming to choose from a menu full of items, so it makes it a little easier when I can choose exactly what I want myself.

401 Snow Hill Rd.

Salisbury, MD

410-548-1588

Leave a Reply

