What the bundt?

Okay, so I don’t know when it happened or how it happened, but it did…the BUNDTS are BACK!  I’ve never really thought too much of bundt cakes growing up…I thought they were just a fad in the 70’s.  The one bundt pan we have in our house is flower power orange and the only things I recall using it for were angel food cake and monkey bread. (I don’t think I can call what I made in that pan ‘monkey bread’ after working at Jones and making the best monkey bread ever!  So let’s say, cut up biscuit dough tossed in cinnamon sugar and baked to make a pull apart bread) phew.  Anywho, I was researching bakery trends for 2012 and my eyes were reopened to the bundt!

I’m especially taken with mini bundts and baby bundts.  Why? Cause they are so darn cute!

Lemon-Poppy Seed Baby Bundt Cakes. Photo by Info4YourLife

food.com

First, the possibilities are endless.  All sorts of sizes…big bundts, mini bundts, baby bundts…all sorts of shapes…all sorts of flavors/varietys, with or without fillings or toppings.  The best part is bundts are super easy to make!  They look beautiful straight out of the pan!  There’s no leveling, no filling or stacking or decorating.  All you have to do is simply dust with powdered sugar, or drizzle with a flat icing (mixture of powdered sugar and liquid) They must also have magical powers because they seem to stay more moist than regular cake, even without being soaked with simple syrup.  ANNNND you don’t need all that icing.  Don’t get me wrong, I love icing, but I love the cake even more!

Another thing I LOVE about bundts is you can make ANY flavor.  My favorite thing to do is make my go to pound cake recipe (which is actually Paula Deen’s- http://www.foodnetwork.com/recipes/paula-deen/mamas-pound-cake-recipe/index.html)  and make different flavored cakes with the same batter.  I’ll mix chocolate chips in some, lemon zest on others, cranberry orange, marble, etc.  Heck, you can even bake coffee cake into bundt form! You can fill the center with any kind of filling, or even inject filling into the cake through the bottom.

Agree with me or not, but I think cupcakes better watch their backs, bundts are coming through!  Go ahead, kiss my bundt.

In fact, check out Kiss My Bundt —> http://kissmybundt.net/

Check out some of the bundts my bakers and I did for our Best Bundt Contest which was one of our Susan G. Komen fundraisers.  Since I feel bundts are bringing retro back, I made a “fauxstess” bundt.  Devil’s food cake with chocolate chips baked in, injected and filled with creamy vanilla filling, with a splash of ganache and chocolate drizzle.  Soooooo gooood.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I mean, what’s not to love about these cutie cakes?!?  Today at work we made super tiny bundts, that you could wear like a Ring Pop!  I shoulda got a pic of that!  Also a special note to any brides out there, have you heard of cupcake trees for weddings?  Well guess what, you can do that with bundts too!!  I hope you discover the greatness that is the bundt like I have…

 

I’ll leave you with this…

I Like Big Bundts 3 Logo by JustJennDesigns

foodlibrarian.blogspot.com

What?  I like big bundts and I cannot lie!

Leave a Reply

